Pubblicato: gennaio 11, 2013 in Altura e Cultura

Wake and Wander’s ‘Holy Shit Moments’ of 2012
Posted on January 2, 2013 by Will McGough

I made a comment yesterday at a New Year’s Day party in Philadelphia (during the Mummer’s Parade) that incited laughter and resulted in being labeled as an “old man,” but I’ll say it again here because it’s one of the truest things I know: Life goes faster and faster every year, and there’s not a damn thing we can do but enjoy the hell out of every inch of it.

When I first announced that I would write this piece and asked others for their “holy shit moments” of the year, everybody started spouting off about negative or scary experiences. Those are well and good and definitely memorable, but a holy shit moment doesn’t have to be terrifying — they can, as you’ll see from mine, be quite beautiful.

I thank everyone who has been a part of this year, friends and family and colleagues and all those I’ve been fortunate enough to meet along the way. I’ve told you before I have a knack for using the holidays as a life reference point of comparison and the new year certainly has a lot to live up to given how great 2012 turned out to be. Writing this piece and going through all the photos and stories was a perfect reminder of how much fun I had and all the things I was able to experience. Cheers to that.
I’ve linked to stories and videos throughout this article in case you’d like to dig a bit deeper and read more about one of the moments that made the list. Here they are, my Holy Shit Moments of 2012, in no specific order:

Wake and Wander

I made a comment yesterday at a New Year’s Day party in Philadelphia (during the Mummer’s Parade) that incited laughter and resulted in being labeled as an “old man,” but I’ll say it again here because it’s one of the truest things I know: Life goes faster and faster every year, and there’s not a damn thing we can do but enjoy the hell out of every inch of it.

When I first announced that I would write this piece and asked others for their “holy shit moments” of the year, everybody started spouting off about negative or scary experiences. Those are well and good and definitely memorable, but a holy shit moment doesn’t have to be terrifying — they can, as you’ll see from mine, be quite beautiful.

I thank everyone who has been a part of this year, friends and family and colleagues and all those I’ve been…

View original post 1.538 altre parole

Lascia un commento

